Skip to content

Pi Day

March 15, 2009

pi-day-1

I actually didn’t even realize that it was Pi Day (3/14) when I planned to make key lime pie for my coblogger, good old Pete.  He asked if I would make him a treat and I said sure – under one condition – that it was something I have never made before.

And key lime pie was chosen!  I did some research and learned that key limes are different then the regular limes you find in the grocery store, so off I went to Whole Foods (they didn’t have them at my local Safeway or Giant) to pick up those cute little key limes.

pi-day-2

I used this recipe from The Joy of Baking, a site with tons of information about a lot of the most basic baking recipes, and worth checking out.

Key Lime Pie
Source: Stephanie Jaworski, The Joy of Baking

Ingredients:
Crust:
1 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (I put these in the food processor and ground them up, it took me a little under 1 pack)
2 tablespoons granulated white
5 – 6 tablespoons melted butter
Filling:
3 large egg yolks
One 14 – ounce can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup key lime juice
2 teaspoons grated lime zest

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and place the rack in the center of the oven.

To make the crust, mix together the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and melted butter. Press onto the bottom and up the sides of a well greased 9 inch pie or tart pan. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator to chill while you make the filling.

In the bowl of your electric mixer with the whisk attachment, beat the egg yolks until pale and fluffy (about 3 minutes). (I actually used a hand mixer and it worked just fine). Gradually add the condensed milk and beat until you have a light and fluffy mixture (4-5 minutes).  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat in the lime juice and zest.

To cook, pour the filling into the crust and bake for about 10 minutes, or until the filling is set. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool. Serve chilled with whipped cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

