Skip to content

February’s Baker’s Dozen

February 28, 2009

Monthly news bites about baking, recipes, or recipes I want to try:

gnocchi, made with love

gnocchi, made with love

  • Check out this [guide to making gnocchi].  All of my hard work finally paid off as I can proudly say last weekend was my first successful attempt at creating these heavenly pillows.
  • I felt it was time to expand my baking repertoire so for Valentine’s Day I made this [lemon tart].  I’m really glad I did, because it was so lemony and delicious.
  • Looking for new inspiration?  Check out the World’s [50 best food blogs] if you’re looking for something new to whip up in the kitchen.
  • Attention DC Top Chef Fans:  Carla Hall will be teaching cooking lessons at [L’Academie de Cuisine] and [CulinAerie].  Check their websites for schedules and class times.
  • I can’t say enough about Martha’s [one bowl chocolate cake].  A coworker made it the other day and it was moist and perfect.  This will be my go to chocolate cake recipe for now.
  • I know Valentine’s Day is long over but this list of [romantic things to do in Paris] sounds amazing.  And the best news is you don’t even need a boyfriend to do any of it.
  • Also from Dori Greenspan: the [perfect pear tart].  I’m going to make it for a dinner party I’m having with friends next month.  I’m really coveting [her book], its on my list of cook books to buy.
  • Next year I’m going to be making a King’s cake since I found [the prize]!  I won’t lie, I find a lot of them ugly, but I like the look of this one at [Baking Bites], and it’s got a cream cheese filling.
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 3:35 am

    Hey, you left a comment on my blog about hunting for the best chocolate cake recipe… I love Martha’s One-Bowl recipe, as well as Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake (on the back of Hershey’s cocoa powder). I recommend both of those recipes over the Devil’s Food recipe from ATK.

    ;D

Leave a Reply

