Skip to content

Cake Love

November 18, 2008

Cake Love
Various locations throughout the D.C. Metro area

There are many complaints about Cake Love and its quality, and it seems that people could spend hours debating if they are they are the best in D.C. or the worst.  Lately, they have come under so much scrutiny, that Warren Brown, the owner felt the need to defend their practices on his blog. 

I have visited three of the locations, the original U Street, Silver Spring, and most recently in the Tyson’s Corner Mall.  And how do I feel?  To me Cake Love really satisfies my cupcake cravings.  While it’s not my favorite, I don’t think the quality of the cake is terrible.  Their cakes are plain, but dense and thick.  The buttercream is not what I’m used to, and not my favorite, but their cream cheese frosting is a winner. 

The new shop in Tyson’s would probably be my favorite, and I wish I had a camera to take a picture of it.  I forgot it had been added to the mall, so I was so glad that I didn’t get the Coldstone I had been debating earlier! It was such a cute display and out of all the shops I’ve visited it had the best selection of flavors.  Additionally, shop attendants were sampling the pumpkin/cream cheese and vanilla/raspberry buttercream.  While I knew what I would order, I had to have a taste, and both were delicious with a truly homebaked taste.  I ordered a pumpkin cupcake with cream cheese frosting as I the texture of the buttercream is not as “buttery” or thick as I would like it to be. 

The only thing that irks me is the waiting time.  The pumpkin cupcake was moist and delicious, but waiting to open that box was like torture!  According to Mr. Warren Brown himself, they have to keep the cakes refrigerated in order to follow health codes, which is understandable.  But I do not have the patience to wait for the cake to become room temperature.  This has definitely ruined the taste and texture of the cupcakes in my past tastings, but there is no avoiding it, he will serve his cakes cold.  If you live near Love Cafe, another U Street location you can check out the Cupcake Bar, where you customize your already room temperature cakes with frostings.   

All in all, I think Cake Love gets a bad rap.  Of course there are hits and misses, but all bakeries have tendencies, and all people have personal preferences.  Whenever I am in Tyson’s, I’ll be stopping by to get my cupcake fix!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

