Skip to content

DC’s First Annual Cupcake Contest

September 30, 2008

I really wanted to go to the cupcake contest last week in Dupont, but making ice cream cone cupcakes for a work related party prevented me from attending.  For a good recap, check out Delleicious DC, where Danielle, one of the judges shares a “behind the scenes” look.  It looked like a lot of fun, and maybe next year I’ll work up the courage and enter! 

While I would have really enjoyed tasting all the cakes, I had a little fun of my own making ice cream cone cupcakes.  I had to make something for an ice cream party themed goodbye party for one of my coworkers.  Another coworker of mine who also enjoys spending time in the kitchen thought they would be perfect along side the usual ice cream sundaes.  As you know, I had been looking for an excuse to make them. 

"funfetti"

I wanted to make them look like “funfetti” but still have that homemade taste.  I used the triple vanilla cupcake recipe from Chockylit (without sea salt), and threw colored sprinkles in the batter before filling up the cones 3/4 of the way and baking them about 30 minutes.  For some reason these take longer then normal cupcakes, even though there is less batter in them.  It is important to keep the oven light on, and a watchful eye.  I frosted the cones with vanilla buttercream and topped them with more sprinkles for that supersweet sugary buttercream taste.  These cupcakes will give you a toothache!  But that was my intention. 

looks like a real ice cream cone?

looks like a real ice cream cone?

They turned out to be a big hit!  Everyone was very curious as to how they were made, and seemed to enjoy them.  If you do not have a car and use public transportation, I do not recomend frosting these until you reach your destination.  Luckily, I did not make that mistake, but while I was traveling to work, several of the cones toppled over.  My coworker discovered on the back of her cone box that you can order a carrier that would transport your ice cream cone cupcakes with ease.  But I feel like that might be a waste of money, unless you make ice cream cone cupcakes all the time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 5:26 am

    These look yummy. I don’t normally think of making cupcakes but these make me want to!

Leave a Reply

