Skip to content

Hella Cupcake

August 26, 2008

Hello Cupcake
1351 Connecticut Avenue N.W. Washington, DC 20036
Nearest Metro: Dupont Circle

I have been looking forward to the opening of Hello Cupcake for a long time. While I love Georgetown Cupcake, it is just not easy for me to get to, since I live in Friendship Heights and don’t own a car. So when I read that Hello Cupcake was finally opening on Monday, I was thrilled.

My plan was to meet PK down in Dupont after work and pick up a bunch for us to taste. Around lunch, his dad, who works around the corner, called to tell him lines were out the door. There was certainly enough press to make that possible, and PK and I didn’t want to take any chances. While I drowned in work at the office, he offered to go wait in line.

So I didn’t get to see the store, or be a part of the first day excitement, which was really depressing, but I’ll be going back to take a look once things calm down. PK waited in line for two hours, to get only four cupcakes, since the store was imposing a limit per customer. Smart, I would say, since in opening weeks Georgetown Cupcake could not handle the overwhelming crowds crazy for cupcakes!

We met at my apartment after work to do a tasting. PK brought home a You Tart! (lemon), 24 Carrot (carrot cake), Peanut Butter Blossom (chocolate cake with peanut butter buttercream) and a seasonal Rootbeer.

too many customers equals squished cupcakes

too many customers equals squished cupcakes

The darker cakes were not as moist as I would have liked them to be, however the You Tart! was moist and covered in a lemony cream cheese. I don’t like any kind of pastry with nuts in them so I didn’t eat the 24 Carrot. Although, the cinnamon sprinkled on the cream cheese frosting was a nice touch. The rootbeer cupcake, also frosted in cream cheese (and decorated with a little pink straw) tasted exactly like a rootbeer float, but the cake was a little dry. Peanut Butter Blossom, expected to be the shops “signature cake” was also dry, but covered in the most delicious peanut buttery frosting imaginable. If you like peanut butter, you will love this cupcake.

I don’t want to make any assumptions about the quality because I can only imagine how rushed they were. I will be going back when things (if they ever) slow down, especially since Hello Cupcake has a buy 12 get 1 free promotion. It won’t take me too many trips to fill up my card.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

